Sustainability Staff Award

May 21, 2020 | Staff | 0 comments

The Sustainability Award category in the University’s Staff Awards recognises colleagues whose contributions are making the university an innovative environment for learning, collaboration and practice in sustainability

The following staff were shortlisted finalists for the 2020 award:

  • CMSR Team – Communications and the Who Cares campaign team
  • Adam Hart, Professor of Science Communication and Anne Goodenough, Professor in Applied Ecology
  • Students’ Union Officers (George Berry, Phoebe Crook, Gemma Mainwaring, Imaani Mitchell)​

Director of Sustainability Dr Alex Ryan said:

“It always makes me incredibly proud that the nominees reflect the full span of our professional services and academic colleagues. They also show the power of individual grass roots action, great collaboration and partnership, and carefully planned whole-team initiatives”

The winner of this year’s Sustainability Staff Award is – The Students’ Union Officers Team

 The SU Officers Team have shown leadership through which they have maximised sustainability in both the student experience and wider university life. From banning plastic bags at the Freshers’ Fayre, to encouraging our catering provider to reduce single use items, and changing their own practices. They have also worked closely with the university’s Sustainability Team and with the Green Team to align activities and make significant impact. 


Changing Communities – Changing Perceptions
Changing Communities – Changing Perceptions